Ryan Hyde and his Portage team ( Kenneth Keeler, Hartley Vanstone, Ryan Brooks) have won the Access Credit Union Super League playoffs, completing a three game sweep through the playoff round with a 6-4 victory over David Hamblin’s Morris team.

Access Credit Union League Champions: (l-r) Ryan Hyde, Kenneth Keeler, Hartley Vanstone, Ryan Brooks)

Traditionally, the league’s playoff round is scheduled in the period ahead of the Viterra Championship to provide ‘tune-up’ competition for teams which may be competing.

Saturday’s playoff round in Morris provided three competitive games for the Hamblin team and two for the Hyde team who will both be in Neepawa next week.

To reach the final game, Hamblin defeated Dean North (Carman) and Randy Neufeld (LaSalle), who is looking forward to both Senior and Masters provincials. Neufeld had earned the first place bye after round-robin play.

Hyde’s team had earned the second place bye so only had to win one game to reach the final game.

The champion’s cheque of $2,500 and the finalist cheque of $1,500 will help pay expenses for the teams as they compete in Neepawa.

Hyde starts the Viterra Championship at 8:30AM Wednesday against Sean Grassie while Hamblin has a 12:15 draw against Steen Sigurdson.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s