Three Manitoba curling championships will wrap up today: the Masters Women at Assiniboine Memorial (final at 4PM) and the U-18 Men & Women at Heather (finals at 6PM).

At Heather, the Page Playoff draws are set for 9AM with semi-finals at 2PM. The U-18 Women’s draw features a pair of unbeaten rural teams in the 1V1 game (winner to the final, loser to the semi-final). Dayna Wahl (Altona) and Zoey Terrick (Neepawa) advanced with perfect 4W-0L records. In the Page bottom side elimination game, Grace Beaudry (St. Vital) will play Emily Ogg (AMCC). Both teams advanced with 3W-1L records.

In the U-18 Men’s championship, no team survived round robin play unbeaten. All four playoff teams advanced with single losses, the only teams with only one loss on their record. Provincial Junior Champion Jordon McDonald (Deer Lodge) meets Carter Marshall (St. Vital) in the Page top-side game with the winner advancing to the final. In the bottom side elimination game Ronan Peterson (Ft. Rouge) plays Ryan Ostrowsky (West St. Paul).

At Assiniboine Memorial, the top three teams all finished with 3W-1L records. Judy Colwell (East St. Paul), Laurie Deprez (Stonewall) and Sandra Cowling (Hamiota) all beat each other in the round robin. As a result of the last-shot draw ‘contest’, Colwell’s team was awarded the bye to the final game where the East St. Paul skip will try to win her first provincial championship. Deprez and Cowling, both former Senior Women’s champions, will meet in the semi-final.

In the Masters Men’s, the playoff picture is simple but the last two teams will be determined in head-to-head games on the last round-robin draws. Murray Warren (6W-0L) will advance to the Page 1-1 game. Second place will go to the winner of a game between Gord McTavish (Pembina) and Dale Brooks (Hamiota). Brooks is at 4W-2L while McTavish is 5W-1L. If both finish 5W-2L, Brooks will advance thanks to the win. If McTavish wins, his team gets seconds place due to the earlier loss to Brandon’s Warren team.

In the other pool, Greg McGibbon (Granite) is the unbeaten team at 6W-0L and will finish first. Jim Renwick (Brandon) and Mark Franklin (Granite), both with 5W-1L records, will face off at 12:30 Sunday with the winner earning the second playoff berth from the group.


The Johnson team ‘hurries hard’ in the final game

A Pembina team skipped by Kailah Johnson defeated Danika Chartrand’s Petersfield team to win the U-13 Division of the Canad Inns Youth Bonspiel. Both teams had won three games out of four in their round-robin series when they met in the final game.

In the third place game, Calli Goethe and a Swan River team were the winners over Pembina’s Tiernan Bertrand-Meadows foursome.

The Bertrand-Meadows (Ainslee Card, Annalise Page-Burns, Miles Girardin) team was also one of two winners of the Fair Play Awards, determined by team voting as each team gave their opponent a Fair Play ranking after each game played.

The second Fair Play Award in the U-13 Division went to St. Vital’s Alexandre Newcombe team (Alex Home, Liam Cleary, Matthew Livetsky)

U-13 Division Winners: Pembina – Skip Kailah Johnson, 3rd Nancy Pu, 2nd Connor Sahaidak, Lead Nataya Johnson, Coach Christina Johnson
U-13 Division Finalists: Petersfield – Skip Danika Chartrand, 3rd Cassidy Laing, 2nd Autumn Clifton, Lead Aurora Marynowski, Alternate Josephine Jolicoeur, Coach Randy Kolomaya
U-13 Division third Place: Swan River – Skip Calli Goethe, 3rd Addison Hunt, 2nd Katie Hunt, Lead Darbi Barker, Coach Kari Goethe
U-13 Fourth Place: Pembina – Skip Tiernan Bertrand-Meadows, 2nd Annalise Page-Burns, Miles Girardin, Coach Shelley Bertrand-Meadows


Ryan Ostrowsky delivers

In a tune-up for next week’s CurlManitoba u-18 Provincial Championship, Ryan Ostrowsky and his West St. Paul team went undefeated this weekend to win the Canad Inns Youth Bonspiel’s U-18 Division.

The Ostrowsky foursome won three round-robin games and a semi-final before winning the Sunday afternoon final game over Meghan Lagadi and her Pembina team.

Carter Walker’s Assiniboine Memorial team won the third place playoff with a victory over St. Vital’s Hannah Patton team.

U-18 Division Winners: West St. Paul – Skip Ryan Ostrowsky, 3rd Jack Steski, Lead Logan Strand, Coach Carlene Strand (Missing 2nd Luke Robins)
U-18 Division Finalists: Pembina – Coach Gerry Lagadi, Skip Meghan Lagadi, 3rd Jenna Williment, 2nd Abby Romaniuk, Lead Hailey Hall, Alternate Paul Graham
U-18 Division Third Place: Assiniboine Memorial – Skip Carter Walker, 3rd Connor Woodward, 2nd Graeme Sikora, Lead Jack MacDonald, Coach Brad Walker
U-18 Division Fourth Place: St. Vital – Skip Hannah Patton, 2nd Molly Cooper, Lead Kaely McLean, Co-coach Christy Patton (Missing 3rd Emerson Cauthers, Co-coach Paula Cauthers)


Tyler Fehr delivers for Team Sugden

The Nash Sugden team from Morden, with Tyler Fehr calling the shots and throwing last stones, defeated Pembina’s Luc Cormier team in the Sunday afternoon final game of the Canad Inns Youth Bonspiel U-15 Division.

The winning team, which played the final with three as Nash Sugden sat out due to illness, were undefeated in the bonspiel. They won their five round-robin games and two playoff games to advance to the final.

In the 3rd place playoff game, a Pembina team skipped by Karys Buchalter was the winner over the Caitlyn McPherson team from Assiniboine Memorial.

The U-15 Division’s Fair Play Awards, based on an accumulated ranking with each team rating their opponent after every game, were won by the Jessica Campbell team (Desirae Blunden, Danielle Livestky, Jordon Schroeder) from St. Vital and the Emily Mykula team (Kate Patterson, Bronwyn Trevellyan, Lexi Leadbeater) from Swan River.

Winners of the U-15 Division: Morden – Skip Nash Sugden, 3rd Tyler Fehr, 2nd Tanner Treichel, Lead Ryan Thiessen, Coach Sue Sugden
Finalists U-15 Division: Pembina – Skip Luc Cormier, 3rd Adair Spulnick, 2nd Quinn Lagace, Lead Miles Lagadi, Coach Rej Lagace (Missing 5th Liam Burton)
Third U-15 Division: Pembina – Karys Buchalter, 3rd Ella Robins, 2nd Amy Buchalter, Lead Eva le Heiget, Alternate Abigail Vander Aa, Coach Denis Le Heiget
Fourth U-15 Division: Assiniboine Memorial – Skip Caitlyn McPherson, 3rd Katie McDonald, 2nd Bailey Gunn, Lead Ella Keough, Coach Rob Keough


140 young curlers – 35 teams – from 6 Winnipeg clubs, 8 rural Manitoba communities and 1 Northern Ontario community – playing in two Winnipeg curling rinks.

Those are the numbers for this year’s Canad Inns Youth Winter Bonspiel underway at Charleswood and Deer Lodge. The event is played in three age divisions : U-13 (9 teams), U-15 (18 teams), and U-18 (8 teams).

The event is intended to be more recreational than competitive. However, in the older age group about half the teams will also play in next weekend’s CurlManitoba U-18 Championship. They are the teams who are beginning to make the transition in their development as curlers toward being more competitive.

Pembina (8 teams) and St. Vital (6 teams) are the most- represented curling clubs. The others of the six Winnipeg clubs are Assiniboine Memorial (3 teams), Fort Garry (2) and Granite & Fort Rouge (1 each). From outside Winnipeg, there are three Swan River teams and two each from Ste Anne and West St. Paul. Single teams have come from Brandon, La Salle, Lorette, Morden, and Petersfield, .

The two out-of-province teams have come from Kakabeka Falls, near Thunder Bay.

The competition is being played in a round-robin pools format with final games in each division set for 3PM on Sunday at Deer Lodge.

Equally important to the event is an emphasis on FAIR PLAY. After each game, each team is asked to rank their opponent and prizes as also awarded based on Fair Play rankings.