Former Brier and World Champion Al Hackner and his Northern Ontario team have advanced to the championship round of the Canadian Masters (age 60+) Men’s Championship at Pembina Curling Club with an undefeated run through their first six games.

Hackner, whose Canadian championship career began in Manitoba with a 1982 Brier win in Brandon, previously won the Canadian Masters in 2017. Teammates Eric Harnden, Frank Morissette, and Bruce Munro were all part of that 2017 Masters championship team.

The leader in the other 7-team pool is Murray Warren’s Team Manitoba. Warren, with his brothers Reg & Terry and Brian Barker, opened round robin play with a loss to Ontario but reeled off five straight wins for a 5W-1L record. British Columbia also sits at 5W-1L but a Manitoba win over BC gives the home team the seeding edge.

Behind Manitoba and BC in the pool standings are Ontario at 4W-2L and three teams (Northwest Territories, Alberta, Nova Scotia) at 2W-4L. Based on the tiebreaker formula, Nova Scotia advancess to the championship round.

Behind Northern Ontario, Team Saskatchewan has a 4W-1L record. Tied at 3W-3L, Team New Brunswick and the Manitoba Host team skipped by Mark Franklin will also advance. (A provincial host team is included as a wildcard team in the draw when there are an odd number of provincial/territorial entries.)

The four teams from each pool will play the four from the other pool in the championship round. The preliminary round record carries forward and wins continue to accumulate to determine the four semi-finalist teams to meet Saturday at 2PM, with the finals set for 10AM Sunday.

In the Masters Women’s championship, the final round robin draw at 7:45pm Wednesday will determine the fate of the two Manitoba teams. The Manitoba Host team, skipped by Sandra Cowling, has completed the preliminary round with a 2W-3L record while Judy Colwell’s Team Manitoba has a 2W-2L record and a game to play. Results of several different games on the ice at the same time will dictate whether either or both advance to the women’s championship round.

Women’s championship round play is scheduled for Thursday, Nov 17: 8:30am & 4pm; and Friday, Nov. 18: 10am & 6pm. Men’s championship round play is scheduled for Thursday, Nov 17: 12:15pm & 7:45pm; Friday, Nov. 18: 2pm; & Saturday, Nov 19: 10am.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s